Presented by the
Newfoundland's Grand Banks Site
to assist you in researching your Family History

Click on the graphic below to return to the NGB Home Page
Newfoundland's Grand Banks

To contribute to this site, see above menu item "About".

How to report a possible transcription error

These transcriptions may contain human errors.
As always, confirm these, as you would any other source material.

Pentecostal Churches in Harbour Main District



List of Parish's that fall under PAON for the Harbour Main District:

  1. Bell Island - Community Pentecostal Parish Church
  2. Long Pond - Faith Pentecostal Parish church
  3. Seal Cove - Hope Pentecostal Parish church

History of the Pentecostal Assemblies in Newfoundland - St. John's

Pentecostalism in Newfoundland and Labrador is related to the phenomenon of the Pentecostal movement which developed global proportions at the turn of the twentieth century. The message was brought to Newfoundland by Alice B. Garrigus (1858-1949), an unmarried public school teacher from Rockville, Connecticut. Garrigus arrived in Newfoundland on December 1, 1910 and, on the afternoon of Easter Sunday 1911, opened Bethesda Mission on New Gower Street in St. John's, the Newfoundland capital. The spark which was fanned into the flame of Pentecost in Newfoundland was fuelled by the efforts of Victoria Booth-Clibborn Demarest (1889-1982). In 1919 she conducted revival meetings in a Methodist church in St. John's. One report states that 2,000 people experienced salvation during this crusade. Many of these eventually began to fellowship with Bethesda Mission. From this initial effort, the Pentecostal message was carried to various parts of the island and later to Labrador. Entire volumes can be written of the pioneers and the call to evangelize that characterized the early days of the Pentecostal Movement in Britain's oldest colony and Canada's newest province. On December 8, 1925 the Bethesda Pentecostal Assemblies of Newfoundland was chartered. The word "Bethesda" was dropped on November 13, 1930, in favor of the current corporate title, Pentecostal Assemblies of Newfoundland (PAON).

Pentecostal Assemblies of Newfoundland (PAON)
Administrative Office/Archive

P.O. Box 8895, Station "A"
57 Thornburn Road St. John's, Newfoundland
A1B 3T2

Telephone #:
(709) 753-6314 Fax #: (709) 753-4945

e-mail address:

Home page:
Pentecostal Assemblies of Newfoundland (PAON)
Administrative Office

Ms. Mr. Burton Janes Secretary Wanda Buckle



Contributed by Barbara McGrath

Page Revised: July 2002 (Don Tate)

Newfoundland's Grand Banks is a non-profit endeavor.
No part of this project may be reproduced in any form
for any purpose other than personal use.

JavaScript DHTML Menu Powered by Milonic

© Newfoundland's Grand Banks (1999-2018)

Hosted by
Chebucto Community Net

Your Community, Online!

Search through the whole site
[Recent] [Contacts] [Home]