Presented by the
Newfoundland's Grand Banks Site
to assist you in researching your Family History

Click on the graphic below to return to the NGB Home Page
Newfoundland's Grand Banks

To contribute to this site, see above menu item "About".

How to report a possible transcription error

These transcriptions may contain human errors.
As always, confirm these, as you would any other source material.

Lovell's 1871
Provincial Business Directory
A group of small islands, to the north of Fogo Island, in the district of Twillingate, Fogo. Distant from Fogo by boat 4 miles. Mail forthnightly. Population 270.


Blackey Joseph, fisherman
Blake Francis, fisherman
Blake Solomon, Fisherman
Britt John, Planter
Coffin Ambrose, Fisherman
Combden Eli, fisherman
Combden Henry, fisherman
Combden Joseph, fisherman
Combden Lot, planter
Cull Eli, fisherman
Cull George, fisherman
Cull Henry, fisherman
Cull James, fisherman
Cull John, fisherman
Cull Stephen, fisherman
Fennimore Henry, fisherman
Ford Zebediah, fisherman
Forster James, fisherman
Freke George, fisherman
Godden Abraham, fisherman
Godden John, fisherman
Godden William, fisherman
Hewitt Hezekiah, planter
Louis William, fisherman
Mew James jun., fisherman
Mew Joseph, trader
Mew Richard, planter
Peyton Thomas, fisherman
Primmer James, fisherman
Primmer John, fisherman
Randle Reuben, fisherman
Rolls James, merchant
Watkins James, planter
Watkins John, fisherman
Witcher John, fisherman
Witcher Levi, fisherman



The entries have been transcribed as
they appear in the 1871 Lovell's directory.
Over the years, many of the names have become
colloquialized or spelled differently.

[Project Lovell's ]

Contributed and Transcribed by: Freeman Fry

Page Revised: January - 2003 (Don Tate)

Recent Updates Contact Us

Search through the whole site
Hosted by
Chebucto Community Net

Your Community, Online!
JavaScript DHTML Menu Powered by Milonic
Newfoundland's Grand Banks is a non-profit endeavor.
No part of this project may be reproduced in any form for any purpose other than personal use.

© Newfoundland's Grand Banks (1999-2019)