Presented by the
Newfoundland's Grand Banks Site
to assist you in researching your Family History

Click on the graphic below to return to the NGB Home Page
Newfoundland's Grand Banks

To contribute to this site, see above menu item "About".

How to report a possible transcription error

These transcriptions may contain human errors.
As always, confirm these, as you would any other source material.

List of Methodist Minsters
Who served the Pastoral Charge in Brigus (Conception Bay)
from 1804-1963.



Minister                       Term                Notes

Rev. John Percey         1804-1819    (a native son of Brigus and
                                      the first Newfoundlander
                                      to be ordained).
Rev. Thomas Hickson      1819-1822
Rev. John Haigh          1822-1824
Rev. Richard Knight      1824-1827
Rev. William Ellis       1827-1829
Rev. John Boyd           1829-1831
Rev John Haigh           1831-1832    (returned for second term)
Rev. Geo Ellidge         1832-1834
Rev. John Pickavant      1834-1837
Rev. Ingham Sutcliffe    1837-1838
Rev. Jamed Hennigar      1838-1839
Rev. John McMurray       1839-1842
Rev. John Pickavant      1842-1843    (returned for second term)
Rev. William Faulkner    1843-1846
Rev. John S. Addy        1846-1849
Rev. John Snowball       1849-1852
Rev. W.E. Shenstone      1852-1855
Rev. John S. Phinney     1855-1856
Rev. Samuel W. Sprague   1856-1858
Rev. Thomas Smith        1858-1861
Rev. Adam Nightingale    1861-1862
Rev. Thomas Harris       1862-1865
Rev. W.E. Shenstone      1865-1868    (returned for second term)
Rev. John Waterhouse     1868-1871
Rev. John S. Peach       1871-1872
Rev. Thomas Harris       1872-1875    (returned for second term and
                                      during this time the Church 
                                      which this Church is now
                                      replacing was constructed-in
                                      fact, much of the original
                                      timber is still a part of
                                      this bldg.)
Rev. Charles Ladner      1875-1878
Rev. Joseph Pascoe       1878-1881
Rev. Charles Ladner      1881-1882    (returned for second term)
Rev. John Goodison       1882-1885
Rev. James Dove          1885-1888
Rev. Henry Lewis         1888-1891
Rev. John Pratt          1891-1892
Rev. W.T.D. Dunn         1892-1895
Rev. James Wilson        1895-1898
Rev. George Paine        1898-1903
Rev. Jabez Hill          1903-1904
Rev. James Nurse         1904-1908
Rev. Samuel Snowden      1908-1912
Rev. R.H. Maddock        1912-1916    (during his minstry the
                                      Church built in 1875 by
                                      Rev. Thomas Harris was
Rev. C.A. Whitemarsh     1916-1917
Rev. William Swan        1917-1918
Rev. Oliver Jackson      1918-1923
Rev. Charles Lench       1923-1930
Rev. E. Broughton        1930-1940
Rev. L.A.D. Curtis       1940-1943
Rev. F.H. Guy            1943-1945
Rev. S.R. Cooper         1945-1948
Rev. R.N. Rowsell        1948-1958
Rev. R. Wells            1958-



Compiled by Barbara McGrath (May 11, 1999)

Page last updated Tuesday, 26-Mar-2013 15:04:39 ADT (Craig Peterman)

Recent Updates Contact Us

Search through the whole site
Hosted by
Chebucto Community Net

Your Community, Online!
JavaScript DHTML Menu Powered by Milonic
Newfoundland's Grand Banks is a non-profit endeavor.
No part of this project may be reproduced in any form for any purpose other than personal use.

© Newfoundland's Grand Banks (1999-2021)