Presented by the
Newfoundland's Grand Banks Site
to assist you in researching your Family History

Click on the graphic below to return to the NGB Home Page
Newfoundland's Grand Banks

To contribute to this site, see above menu item "About".

How to report a possible transcription error

These transcriptions may contain human errors.
As always, confirm these, as you would any other source material.

Dedication Ceremony of The United Church



During the dedication ceremony of the new United Church at Bell Island on Sunday afternoon, the Pastor Rev. T. J. Pitt, said that he had looked for this day for a long time and now that it had come it really seemed too good to be true.  The old church was opened for public worship in the summer of 1901 (just 50 years ago), and has served the community well.  The new church is far more central and in a better position to serve the community than the old one.

The building fund was launched during the pastorate of the late Rev. Sidney Bennett and the work of excavation begun when Rev. W. J. Woolfrey was minister.  During the pastorate of Rev. R. N. Rowsell the building fund continued to be built up and plans were discussed.  Work began on the new church on the 31st of July last year and the cornerstone was laid by Senator C. C. Pratt, Oct. 8th, 1950.  Free labour was given very generously.  It goes back several years to the digging of the foundation and again since actual work of construction began last August.

Work of wiring the building was done by free labour under the leadership of Mr. Chas. Normore.  The Women's Associations were untiring in their efforts and rendered splendid service.  Gifts of cash were given from time to time which will be acknowledged in the church's 1950 and 1950 financial statement.  There are over 100 employees of the Dominion Wabana Ore Company who have been giving and still are giving 2% of their wages and salaries which has helped the building fund enormously.  The company also has helped in many ways.  The building was constructed by Saunders and Howell of Carbonear under the very able foremanship of Mr. Harold Parsons of Carbonear, who with the men under him really have done a splendid job.  Rev. Pitt thanked the President of the Conference for his presence and message and the other ministers who assisted during the service.  He also thanked Major Rideout of the Salvation Army who cancelled his 3 o'clock service to attend the dedication, soloist Mr. James Rooney, Mr. W. F. Galgay of the C. B. C. and his assistants Messrs. Thistle and Penney for making the broadcast possible, and to all who gave assistance in any way he extended a very sincere thank you.

The following gifts for the church were gratefully acknowledged:

  1. The pulpit and Communion rail.  The gift of Mrs. Sarah Ralph in memory of her husband, Fred.
  2. The Communion table.  The gift of the former members of C.G.I.T.
  3. The communion set.  Gift of Mr. and Mrs. Richard Ivany, and family, in memory of daughter, Daphne.
  4. Linen cloth for communion table, gift of the present C. G. I. T. group.
  5. Pulpit Bible.  In memory of Mr. and Mrs. C. F. Taylor by their family.
  6. Hymn Book with music.  In memory of Adrian Taylor by his sister, Mrs. Button.
  7. Hymn Book with music. In memory of Rev. Ebenzer Davis by his mother, Mrs. Davis (now deceased) and his sister, Mrs. Eric Butler.
  8. Baptismal Font, by Mr. and Mrs. Norman Reynolds in memory of infant child.
  9. Pulpit Settee given in memory of Mr. and Mrs. Hannibal Normore.
  10. Two collection plates by Mr. and Mrs. Ches. Eveleigh of Grand Banks.
  11. Three light fixtures in vestibule by Mr. and Mrs. Arthur Perry in memory of son, Gerald.
  12. Two silver flower vases by Mr. and Mrs. Llewellyn Rose, in memory of Mrs. Edith Rose.
  13. Linoleum and carpet by Women's Association.
  14. Light fixtures on side walls G.Y.P.U.
  15. Two collection plates and pulpit lamp by Sunday School and the Minister's Bible Class.
  16. Pulpit Drape with crest of the United Church by Mr. Frank Penny.
  17. Electric clock, in memory of Eleazor Bartlett by the Bartlett family.

The following are the names of the building committee:

  1. Rev. T. J. Pitt, chairman
  2. Geo. C. Normore, treasurer
  3. F. C. Lodge, secretary
  4. Charles Normore
  5. Walter Parsons
  6. A. Budgell
  7. Fred Eveleigh
  8. R. Ivany
  9. Willis Jarvis
  10. Joseph Gosse
  11. Arch Rose
  12. George Curtis
  13. William Pond
  14. Jacob Harris
  15. H. King
  16. Elijah King
  17. John G. Pike

A full account of the service of dedication of the new church appeared in Monday's Daily News.




Contributed by Barbara McGrath
Transcribed by Ivy Benoit (January 2001)

Page Revised: February - 2003 (Don Tate)

Recent Updates Contact Us

Search through the whole site
Hosted by
Chebucto Community Net

Your Community, Online!
JavaScript DHTML Menu Powered by Milonic
Newfoundland's Grand Banks is a non-profit endeavor.
No part of this project may be reproduced in any form for any purpose other than personal use.

© Newfoundland's Grand Banks (1999-2021)