Presented by the
Newfoundland's Grand Banks Site
to assist you in researching your Family History

Click on the graphic below to return to the NGB Home Page
Newfoundland's Grand Banks

To contribute to this site, see above menu item "About".

How to report a possible transcription error

These transcriptions may contain human errors.
As always, confirm these, as you would any other source material.



Transcribed December 1, 2007


David Baird 1862 – 1943.

Elizabeth Makinson Baird 1874 – 1975. 

Hon. James Baird, born at Saltcoats, Scotland. Died July 30, 1915, Aged 87.

John A. M. And Julia Anna Baird.

Henry Albert Burke 1904 – 1988.

Madge McKinley Burke 1911 – 1988.

James O. Campbell, 1911 – 1987, elder 1952 – 1987, Choir Member 50 years.

Jessie Furness Cowan 1897 1962.  Robert Alexander Cowan 1899 – 1982.

William Frew 1843 – 1924 and Mary Frew his wife 1836 – 1924.

Beatrice Mary, daughter of the late James Gordon, and wife of J.W.N. Johnstone.  Born March 20, 1882. Died October 28, 1910,

James Gordon, born 1843, died 1908.

Rev. Moses Harvey LL. D., born March 21 1820, ordained 1844, inducted here 1852, retired 
1878, died September 3, 1901.

Joseph McKinley 1891 – 1964.  Vera Shambler McKinley 1903 – 1992. 

 Hon. Moses Monroe, born June 4th 1842 and died May 19, 1895.

Jessie G. Monroe, born 1st March, 1846. Died 20th June 1906.

Henley Munden Munn 1907 - 1970.  Gertrude McMurdo Munn 1907 – 1988.

George Neal 1865 – 1919.

Sir Robert Reid, born at Coupar Angus, Scotland, October 12th, 1841, died October June 3rd, 1908.





Erected to the memory of the Rev. Donald Allan Frazer, M.A., EDIN., the first Presbyterian Minister in Newfoundland, 1842-1845, born at Torosay, in the Island of Mull, Scotland November 24th 1793, died at St. John’s February 7th, 1845.

Ira S. Kennedy. A faithful elder of this Congregation 1934-1947.

This Tablet is erected by the members of St. Andrew’s Church In Memory Of the Rev. Moses Harvey LLD. He was the minister of St. Andrew’s Free Church in this City for Twenty-six years and thereafter from the Union of the churches in 1878. He remained Minister Emeritus until the time of his death in 1901.

In Loving Memory of Margery S. Brown 1909-1999.

In Loving Memory of R.W. Brown 1903-1992.


In Memory of the Men of the Newfoundland Highlanders
who Made the Supreme Sacrifice in The Great War 1914-1918
Albert Bastow Norman Coultas George Dick Stewart Ferguson George Langmead
Herbert Luscombe W. LeShano William Miller Walter Morris William Martin
William McNivan Donald Neil Hubert Herder Edward Hoare R. Heale
James Ledington Neil McLeod Walter Ross Owen Steele Gordon Tizzard
Andrew Wilson Edgar Winsor James Watts W. Watts J B Young
In Loving Memory of the Following Men of this Congregation Who Fell in the Great War 1914-1918.
Albert C Bastow Gordon C Bastow James M. Cron George Dick Graham Duff
J Roy Ferguson Stewart S Ferguson E MacIntosh Frew Gilbert T Gordon William R Grant
Alexander M Jackson James A Ledingham Andrew Miller John B Mitchell Alex McDougall
William McNiven Campbell W Nichols George D Nichols R Bruce Reid R Wallace Ross
Thomas Southcott James E Thompson Donald Trapnell Andrew W Wilson John B Young
In Loving Memory of the Following Men of this Congregation
Who Fell in the Second World War 1939-1945
 Flt/Sgt David Monroe Baird, RCAF 
 Ralph Morrison Forbes, AB, RN 
 F/O Douglas Monroe Grant, RAF 
 F/O David Simpson Kerr, RCAF 
 John Emile Ledingham, Chief Eng’r, MN 
 P/O David Gordon Morris, RCAF 
 Flt/Sgt George M.L. Robertson, RCAF 
 Flt/Sgt Charles Henry Stewart, RAF 

This page Contributed by Dave Wells (May 2008)

Page Last Modified March 06, 2013 (Craig Peterman)

Recent Updates Contact Us

Search through the whole site
Hosted by
Chebucto Community Net

Your Community, Online!
JavaScript DHTML Menu Powered by Milonic
Newfoundland's Grand Banks is a non-profit endeavor.
No part of this project may be reproduced in any form for any purpose other than personal use.

© Newfoundland's Grand Banks (1999-2019)