Presented by the
Newfoundland's Grand Banks Site
to assist you in researching your Family History

Click on the graphic below to return to the NGB Home Page
Newfoundland's Grand Banks

To contribute to this site, see above menu item "About".

How to report a possible transcription error

These transcriptions may contain human errors.
As always, confirm these, as you would any other source material.

Journal of the House of Assembly of Newfoundland
First Session of the fourth General Assembly
St. John's,
E.D. Shea, 1848
Colonial Government Journals


Return of Labour on the Public Roads for the Division of Brigus, Fall 1847

Should anyone want to know how many days worked and what was paid for an individual, please e-mail me & I'll pass it on, otherwise I will only be posting the names. - Ann (may be contacted through the contributor's page)


John Bowes, Foreman

Joseph Porter

Edward Daw

Thomas Norman

Theophilus Porter

Bethel Porter

Jonathan martin

John Porter

Isaac Daw

Jacob Porter

Jonathan Daw

William Kennedy

John Kennedy

John Daw

Charles Butler

John Boon Sr.

John Boon Jr.

Henry Lear

Patrick Dower

John Butler

George Lear

Richard Phelan

John Porter

Richard Porter

William Morgan

John Bishop

James Bishop

Nathaniel Bishop

Joseph Bishop

Henry Butler

John Kent

Denis Kennedy

Robert Martin

John Lear

Brigus & Cupids

John Kelly, foreman

Nicholas Barrett

John Kelly Jr.

Richard Kelly

William Barrett

James Hoyles

Henry Lane

James Lane

Michael Power

Michael Harding

Thomas McLean

Michael Gordon

James Clark

Solomon Roberts

John Cobbeduck

Wm. Cobbeduck

Patrick Walsh

Wm. Ryan

Edward Hart Sr.

Edward Hart Jr.

James Fowler

James McCabe

Thomas Moors

Joseph Cobbeduck

Patrick Kearney

Thomas Curtis

John Grace

Wiliam Patton

William Hodge

Pierce Furlong

John Rolph

James Fowler

Luke Roach

Martin Whelan

John Delhunty

Patrick Grace

Salmon Cove Branch

Cornelius Bryan, foreman

John Snow

Thomas Snow

James McCabe

Philip Corbin

Duncan Sinclair

Charles Snow

John Ledston

John Reed

John Cobbeduck

Patrick Cooney

Thomas Boon

John Mayford

John Henley & Horse

William Anthony

Patrick Finnican

Allan Rich

Moses Reed

John Frost

Samuel Cannon & Horse

James Swords

William Long

Richard Atkins

John Morgan

Maurice Lawless

Thomas Lawless

George Butler, Horse & Cart

John Mugford

William Batten

Cat's Cove Branch

Michael Walsh, foreman

Patrick Power

John Power

Peter Whealan

Roger Toole

Timothy Toole

Thomas Connell

Michael Neil

Richard Batten

Philip Ezekial

Thomas Costello

Michael Gushue

Michael Costello

Roger Toole

Colliers Branch

Patrick Foley, foreman

Daniel Fling

Philip Conway

Philip Conway Jr.

James Conway

Thomas Ryan

Denis Ryan

Thomas Cole

Patrick Curtis

James Cole

Richard Hearn

Aaron Robins

Bryan Murphy

John Costigan

John Merrigan

William Gary

Patrick Gary

John Murphy

Timothy Murphy

John Devereaux, horse & cart

Moses Cole

Michael Cole

Laurence O'Bryan, horse & cart

John Cullen

Turk's Gut & Bull Cove Branch

Stephen Sparks

Joseph Sparks

Solomon Penny

Edward Mannard

George Mannard

Isaac Morgan

Ambrose Sparks

Nathan Penny

Laurence Croak

John Rose

John McQue {?}

John Leary

John Denehy

Daniel Shea

Thomas Terrall

Moses Sparks

Edward Penny

William Bartlett

James Flaharty

Bay Roberts Branch

Michael Neil, foreman

John Earle

John Mercer

John Garland

Solomon Mercer

Benjamin Bradbury

Thomas Seymore

Edward Mercer

William Bishop

Abraham Bradbury

John Bishop

John French

Samuel French

Thomas French

James Titford

John Mercer

Stephen Mercer

William Badcock

Charles Kearley

George French

William French

George Williams

John Neil

David Fling & horse

James Fitzgerald & horse

Edward Russell

George Mercer

Richard Bradbury

Philip Jones

John Williams

Fredrick Williams

William Kearley

Jonathan Bradbury

Moses Badcock

William Earle

Thomas Earle

Thomas Mercer

Nathan Badcock

George Earle

Henry Badcock

James Conway

Patrick Fitzpatrick

William Parsons

George Bradbury

John Earle

Philip Whealan & horse

Michael Norman

Thomas Keefe

William Snow

Alexander Mercer

Chapel Cove Branch

Thomas Duggan

Keith Lannon

William Walsh

Thomas Duggan Jr.

Patrick Hawes

David Sliney

William Fewer

Patrick Flynn

Patrick Corbit

John Dunn

Port -De- Grave Branch

John Bowes

John Butler

Jordan Daw

William Porter

George Porter

Wm. Morgan

George Morgan

John Bishop

Charles Denning

John Mercer

John Porter

Solomon Porter

Joseph Bishop

Jacob Daw

Bartholomew Daw

Henry Butler

James Bishop

Richard Phelan

John Curtis

Solomon Morgan

Joseph Porter

Henry Bishop

Nathaniel Bishop

Bay Roberts Branch

Michael Neil

James French

John Earle

Monier Earle

Michael Treacy

Frederick Williams

Jonathan mercer

John Mercer

Solomon Mercer

Patrick Treacy

George Earle

Moses Badcock

Wm. Bishop

John French

John Garland

J. Hooper

Joseph Dare

Abraham Bradbury

Philip Jones

Wm. Snow

T. Seymore

Thomas Keefe

George Tracey

Thomas Norman

P. Fitzpatrick

Jabez Mercer

Wm. Bradbury

Edward Mercer

Peter Walsh

James Bradbury

Moses Mercer

Samuel Norman

Wm. Snow

Simon Mercer

John Coombs

John Coombs



Page Contributed by Ann (MacDonald) Batten

Page Revised by Ivy F. Benoit (February 23, 2004)

Recent Updates Contact Us

Search through the whole site
Hosted by
Chebucto Community Net

Your Community, Online!
JavaScript DHTML Menu Powered by Milonic
Newfoundland's Grand Banks is a non-profit endeavor.
No part of this project may be reproduced in any form for any purpose other than personal use.

© Newfoundland's Grand Banks (1999-2021)