Presented by the
Newfoundland's Grand Banks Site
to assist you in researching your Family History

Click on the graphic below to return to the NGB Home Page
Newfoundland's Grand Banks

To contribute to this site, see above menu item "About".

How to report a possible transcription error

These transcriptions may contain human errors.
As always, confirm these, as you would any other source material.

Journal of the House of Assembly of Newfoundland
First Session of the Fourth General Assembly
St. John's,
E.D. Shea, 1848
Colonial Government Journals


For the Lands surveyed for Persons who were in possession prior to the passing of the Crown Lands Bill. For the year ending 1st October, 1847.

I will post names and where they were situated with "wh" = where the land was. There was a cost for the title for the applicant, so if anyone would like to contact me for the cost which a particular person paid, please drop a line. - Ann (may be contacted through the contributor's page)

Robert Carter was the Land Surveyor, Ferryland

"The amount paid the Deputy Surveyor is at the rate of 12s, 6d per day and includes the charge of surveying, plotting, travelling and expense of chainmen."

All the lands surveyed below were done by Robert Carter.


James Johnston wh. - Caplin Bay Rd., Ferryland

J. & J. Devereaux wh - Caplin Bay Rd, Ferryland

James Brody wh - cape Broyle Harbor

Heirs of the late Robert Carter wh - Aquafort & Ferryland, & Ferryland Harbor

Robert Carter wh - Ferryland Harbor

Elizabeth Carter wh - Ferryland Harbor

William Goff wh - Ferryland Harbor

John Dalton wh - Cape Broyle

James Roach wh - Renews

Thomas Devine wh - Renews

Thomas Jackman wh - Renews

Patrick Roach wh - Renews

William Lahey wh - Cape Broyle

Ships's Room wh - Renews

Richard White wh - Aquafort

William Gahan wh - Aquafort

Richard Grant wh - Aquafort

Richard Furlong wh - Cape Broyle

William Brine wh - Cape Broyle

Michael Brine wh - Cape Broyle

William Trainor wh - Fermeus

John Kelligrew wh - Renews

Nicholas Brand wh - Aquafort

Henry O'Neil wh - Fermeuse

Cornelius O'Neil wh - Fermeuse

Eleanor Howlett wh - Ferryland

Wm. Walsh wh - Cape Broyle

Joseph Parsons wh - Aquaforte

William Lahey wh - Cape Broyle

Michael Kiersey wh - Cape Broyle



Page Contributed by Ann (MacDonald) Batten

Page Revised by Ivy F. Benoit (February 23, 2004)

Recent Updates Contact Us

Search through the whole site
Hosted by
Chebucto Community Net

Your Community, Online!
JavaScript DHTML Menu Powered by Milonic
Newfoundland's Grand Banks is a non-profit endeavor.
No part of this project may be reproduced in any form for any purpose other than personal use.

© Newfoundland's Grand Banks (1999-2021)