Register  *  Login  *  Forum  *  FAQ   

Board index » Genealogy » Surnames

Post subject: Morgan Family
 Post Posted: Mon Jan 11, 2016 8:08 pm 

I have been researching the Morgan family of Newfoundland for the past 25 years. Specifically my line is Hezekiah Morgan (1848) in the Conception Bay South area (Manuels). Research has shown that Hezekiah had three brothers, Joseph, John and James. I am 95% sure that their father was also James c1815 from England. Anybody who has searched common names such as Joseph, John, James and other Morgan's, will agree, it is a major challenge to sort out individual families and from which community they originated. My Morgan database for Newfoundland is extensive and I am willing to share any info that I have. Also would like to link my Morgan family of Manuels to other Morgan's of Newfoundland.

Post subject: Re: Morgan Family
 Post Posted: Sun Feb 14, 2016 5:23 pm 

Hi Len: I have Morgan connections in NL but they are from the area of Lushes Bight. My great-grandmother was Mary Jane Morgan and she was one of eight children in the family. Her father, William Morgan's death was written about in the Twillingate Sun and the Evening Telegram (date of June 18,1888).

Mary Jane moved to Cape Breton with her husband Samuel Chappell in 1898-1900.

If you have more information on the Morgan family I would love to chat.

Thank you,

Ann Sheree

Post Posted: Sun Feb 14, 2016 6:03 pm 

Hi Ann. I have some info on the Morgan's around the island including Lushes Bight in trying to connect to my branch of the Morgan's of Newfoundland. There are many William Morgan's as you probably have found.. My great grandmother was also Mary Jane Morgan (nee Squires) of Broad Cove, St. Philips. If I can help please let m know.
Regards
Len

Post Posted: Tue Feb 16, 2016 12:20 am 

Hi Len:

My great-grandmother shows her parents listed as William Henry Morgan and Elizabeth Roberts (with a question mark beside it).